nilfs2: fix data loss in mmap page write for hole blocks
authorRyusuke Konishi <konishi.ryusuke@lab.ntt.co.jp>
Sun, 27 Mar 2011 13:50:49 +0000 (22:50 +0900)
committerRyusuke Konishi <konishi.ryusuke@lab.ntt.co.jp>
Wed, 30 Mar 2011 01:45:31 +0000 (10:45 +0900)
commit34094537943113467faee98fe67c8a3d3f9a0a8b
treeb848b18c90bfd29655e5806e81c54d02946c980d
parent0ce790e7d736cedc563e1fb4e998babf5a4dbc3d
nilfs2: fix data loss in mmap page write for hole blocks

From the result of a function test of mmap, mmap write to shared pages
turned out to be broken for hole blocks.  It doesn't write out filled
blocks and the data will be lost after umount.  This is due to a bug
that the target file is not queued for log writer when filling hole
blocks.

Also, nilfs_page_mkwrite function exits normal code path even after
successfully filled hole blocks due to a change of block_page_mkwrite
function; just after nilfs was merged into the mainline,
block_page_mkwrite() started to return VM_FAULT_LOCKED instead of zero
by the patch "mm: close page_mkwrite races" (commit:
b827e496c893de0c).  The current nilfs_page_mkwrite() is not handling
this value properly.

This corrects nilfs_page_mkwrite() and will resolve the data loss
problem in mmap write.

[This should be applied to every kernel since 2.6.30 but a fix is
 needed for 2.6.37 and prior kernels]

Signed-off-by: Ryusuke Konishi <konishi.ryusuke@lab.ntt.co.jp>
Tested-by: Ryusuke Konishi <konishi.ryusuke@lab.ntt.co.jp>
Cc: stable <stable@kernel.org> [2.6.38]
fs/nilfs2/file.c