cgroup: make the mount options parsing more accurate
authorDaniel Lezcano <daniel.lezcano@free.fr>
Wed, 27 Oct 2010 22:33:37 +0000 (15:33 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Thu, 28 Oct 2010 01:03:09 +0000 (18:03 -0700)
commit32a8cf235e2f192eb002755076994525cdbaa35a
treea4d849c31703d18365e063a4cc7627bfd13ca253
parent97978e6d1f2da0073416870410459694fbdbfd9b
cgroup: make the mount options parsing more accurate

Current behavior:
=================

(1) When we mount a cgroup, we can specify the 'all' option which
    means to enable all the cgroup subsystems.  This is the default option
    when no option is specified.

(2) If we want to mount a cgroup with a subset of the supported cgroup
    subsystems, we have to specify a subsystems name list for the mount
    option.

(3) If we specify another option like 'noprefix' or 'release_agent',
    the actual code wants the 'all' or a subsystem name option specified
    also.  Not critical but a bit not friendly as we should assume (1) in
    this case.

(4) Logically, the 'all' option is mutually exclusive with a subsystem
    name, but this is not detected.

In other words:
 succeed : mount -t cgroup -o all,freezer cgroup /cgroup
=> is it 'all' or 'freezer' ?
 fails : mount -t cgroup -o noprefix cgroup /cgroup
=> succeed if we do '-o noprefix,all'

The following patches consolidate a bit the mount options check.

New behavior:
=============

(1) untouched
(2) untouched
(3) the 'all' option will be by default when specifying other than
    a subsystem name option
(4) raises an error

In other words:
 fails   : mount -t cgroup -o all,freezer cgroup /cgroup
 succeed : mount -t cgroup -o noprefix cgroup /cgroup

For the sake of lisibility, the if ... then ... else ... if ...
indentation when parsing the options has been changed to:
if ... then
...
continue
fi

Signed-off-by: Daniel Lezcano <daniel.lezcano@free.fr>
Signed-off-by: Serge E. Hallyn <serge.hallyn@canonical.com>
Reviewed-by: Li Zefan <lizf@cn.fujitsu.com>
Reviewed-by: Paul Menage <menage@google.com>
Cc: Eric W. Biederman <ebiederm@xmission.com>
Cc: Jamal Hadi Salim <hadi@cyberus.ca>
Cc: Matt Helsley <matthltc@us.ibm.com>
Cc: Balbir Singh <balbir@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
kernel/cgroup.c