libceph: remove 'osdtimeout' option
authorSage Weil <sage@inktank.com>
Wed, 28 Nov 2012 20:28:24 +0000 (12:28 -0800)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Thu, 17 Jan 2013 16:51:20 +0000 (08:51 -0800)
commit31c46473d6a31ac1948c189624b472f26a6365e9
tree63c5f7fee9abeb70822af493e281ed331f0ebc13
parent87c7f759d1546a27d46d8cc2778ffecaa5f542c6
libceph: remove 'osdtimeout' option

This would reset a connection with any OSD that had an outstanding
request that was taking more than N seconds.  The idea was that if the
OSD was buggy, the client could compensate by resending the request.

In reality, this only served to hide server bugs, and we haven't
actually seen such a bug in quite a while.  Moreover, the userspace
client code never did this.

More importantly, often the request is taking a long time because the
OSD is trying to recover, or overloaded, and killing the connection
and retrying would only make the situation worse by giving the OSD
more work to do.

Signed-off-by: Sage Weil <sage@inktank.com>
Reviewed-by: Alex Elder <elder@inktank.com>
(cherry picked from commit 83aff95eb9d60aff5497e9f44a2ae906b86d8e88)
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
fs/ceph/super.c
include/linux/ceph/libceph.h
net/ceph/ceph_common.c
net/ceph/osd_client.c