proc: put check_mem_permission after __get_free_page in mem_write
authorKOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
Thu, 26 May 2011 23:25:52 +0000 (16:25 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Fri, 27 May 2011 00:12:37 +0000 (17:12 -0700)
commit30cd8903913dac7b0918807cac46be3ecde5a5a7
tree64022195d9a384c11b93a4b1299aa944b8293deb
parenta4dbf0ec2aa3e8aca6e63f598095750c232d50f1
proc: put check_mem_permission after __get_free_page in mem_write

It whould be better if put check_mem_permission after __get_free_page in
mem_write, to be same as function mem_read.

Hugh Dickins explained the reason.

    check_mem_permission gets a reference to the mm.  If we __get_free_page
    after check_mem_permission, imagine what happens if the system is out
    of memory, and the mm we're looking at is selected for killing by the
    OOM killer: while we wait in __get_free_page for more memory, no memory
    is freed from the selected mm because it cannot reach exit_mmap while
    we hold that reference.

Reported-by: Jovi Zhang <bookjovi@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
Acked-by: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Reviewed-by: Stephen Wilson <wilsons@start.ca>
Cc: Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
fs/proc/base.c