ext2,ext3,ext4: don't inherit APPEND_FL or IMMUTABLE_FL for new inodes
authorTheodore Ts'o <tytso@mit.edu>
Wed, 31 Aug 2011 15:54:51 +0000 (11:54 -0400)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
Fri, 11 Nov 2011 17:43:50 +0000 (09:43 -0800)
commit305b7dd039f8c4ab5a38057f8c6fbcc50e4f4e43
treefeeb961b9aafc67f9295ae1a1381e7c4f2e1d673
parent7414af4ea686db48b0985a5d26a6639bbad271ea
ext2,ext3,ext4: don't inherit APPEND_FL or IMMUTABLE_FL for new inodes

commit 1cd9f0976aa4606db8d6e3dc3edd0aca8019372a upstream.

This doesn't make much sense, and it exposes a bug in the kernel where
attempts to create a new file in an append-only directory using
O_CREAT will fail (but still leave a zero-length file).  This was
discovered when xfstests #79 was generalized so it could run on all
file systems.

Signed-off-by: "Theodore Ts'o" <tytso@mit.edu>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
fs/ext4/ext4.h
include/linux/ext2_fs.h
include/linux/ext3_fs.h