i915: initialize CADL in opregion
authorLekensteyn <lekensteyn@gmail.com>
Mon, 25 Jun 2012 22:36:24 +0000 (00:36 +0200)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Thu, 28 Mar 2013 19:12:28 +0000 (12:12 -0700)
commit2f7dea37d1b0b3a26fb3c2bd97bbf836dfd04def
treeb8d5ba9b4dbafd6ecc706589eb2812c02f8ef6c2
parent5fb9149b0ee4c106fc73923a3751047bdb860993
i915: initialize CADL in opregion

commit d627b62ff8d4d36761adbcd90ff143d79c94ab22 upstream.

This is rather a hack to fix brightness hotkeys on a Clevo laptop. CADL is not
used anywhere in the driver code at the moment, but it could be used in BIOS as
is the case with the Clevo laptop.

The Clevo B7130 requires the CADL field to contain at least the ID of
the LCD device. If this field is empty, the ACPI methods that are called
on pressing brightness / display switching hotkeys will not trigger a
notification. As a result, it appears as no hotkey has been pressed.

Reference: https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=45452
Tested-by: Peter Wu <lekensteyn@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Peter Wu <lekensteyn@gmail.com>
Acked-by: Jesse Barnes <jbarnes@virtuousgeek.org>
Signed-off-by: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>
Cc: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_opregion.c