jfs: fix a couple races
authorDave Kleikamp <dave.kleikamp@oracle.com>
Wed, 1 May 2013 16:08:38 +0000 (11:08 -0500)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Fri, 7 Jun 2013 19:49:34 +0000 (12:49 -0700)
commit2e6c53ddade9836cb96821539c664cd6dff0be42
tree73dab4682d8d5ea12815440367c4b4389a08d029
parente3f7e71f94234a4b10265e644d5e01d5c8ff7880
jfs: fix a couple races

commit 73aaa22d5ffb2630456bac2f9a4ed9b81d0d7271 upstream.

This patch fixes races uncovered by xfstests testcase 068.

One race is the result of jfs_sync() trying to write a sync point to the
journal after it has been frozen (or possibly in the process). Since
freezing sync's the journal, there is no need to write a sync point so
we simply want to return.

The second involves jfs_write_inode() being called on a deleted inode.
It calls jfs_flush_journal which is held up by the jfs_commit thread
doing the final iput on the same deleted inode, which itself is
waiting for the I_SYNC flag to be cleared. jfs_write_inode need not
do anything when i_nlink is zero, which is the easy fix.

Reported-by: Michael L. Semon <mlsemon35@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Dave Kleikamp <dave.kleikamp@oracle.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
fs/jfs/inode.c
fs/jfs/jfs_logmgr.c