drm/i915: Disable all outputs early, before KMS takeover
authorChris Wilson <chris@chris-wilson.co.uk>
Tue, 29 Mar 2011 09:40:27 +0000 (10:40 +0100)
committerKeith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
Tue, 10 May 2011 20:56:44 +0000 (13:56 -0700)
commit2c7111dbaec72b01c804afb8ad77c6c7523986fd
tree28cea6c8bd6049343992bddc28417d20cdbc5833
parent9c23f7fc4cef14b46830b7f9eb0dc1b2d6f55d4d
drm/i915: Disable all outputs early, before KMS takeover

If the outputs are active and continuing to access the GATT when we
teardown the PTEs, then there is a potential for us to hang the GPU.
The hang tends to be a PGTBL_ER with either an invalid host access or
an invalid display plane fetch.

v2: Reorder IRQ initialisation to defer until after GEM is setup.

Reported-by: Pekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Chris Wilson <chris@chris-wilson.co.uk>
Tested-by: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch> (855GM)
Tested-by: Pekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org>
           # note that this doesn't fix the underlying problem of the
             PGTBL_ER and pipe underruns being reported immediately upon
             init on his 965GM MacBook
Reported-and-tested-by: Rick Bramley <richard.bramley@hp.com>
Bugzilla: https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=35635
Reported-and-tested-by: Zdenek Kabelac <zdenek.kabelac@gmail.com>
Bugzilla: https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=36048
Reviewed-by: Ben Widawsky <ben@bwidawsk.net>
drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_dma.c
drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_drv.h
drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_display.c