drivers: add Contiguous Memory Allocator
authorMarek Szyprowski <m.szyprowski@samsung.com>
Thu, 29 Dec 2011 12:09:51 +0000 (13:09 +0100)
committerHiroshi Doyu <hdoyu@nvidia.com>
Fri, 7 Sep 2012 08:46:05 +0000 (11:46 +0300)
commit2b5c03745424f3e32c24ea27453a419abddb86a6
tree448a45293677b434e97a1dfa566bcccf1f9f4139
parentb5b2e969a3adab9effa7e2685b9697f97a554575
drivers: add Contiguous Memory Allocator

The Contiguous Memory Allocator is a set of helper functions for DMA
mapping framework that improves allocations of contiguous memory chunks.

CMA grabs memory on system boot, marks it with MIGRATE_CMA migrate type
and gives back to the system. Kernel is allowed to allocate only movable
pages within CMA's managed memory so that it can be used for example for
page cache when DMA mapping do not use it. On
dma_alloc_from_contiguous() request such pages are migrated out of CMA
area to free required contiguous block and fulfill the request. This
allows to allocate large contiguous chunks of memory at any time
assuming that there is enough free memory available in the system.

This code is heavily based on earlier works by Michal Nazarewicz.

Signed-off-by: Marek Szyprowski <m.szyprowski@samsung.com>
Signed-off-by: Kyungmin Park <kyungmin.park@samsung.com>
Signed-off-by: Michal Nazarewicz <mina86@mina86.com>
Acked-by: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Tested-by: Rob Clark <rob.clark@linaro.org>
Tested-by: Ohad Ben-Cohen <ohad@wizery.com>
Tested-by: Benjamin Gaignard <benjamin.gaignard@linaro.org>
Tested-by: Robert Nelson <robertcnelson@gmail.com>
Tested-by: Barry Song <Baohua.Song@csr.com>
Documentation/kernel-parameters.txt
arch/Kconfig
drivers/base/Kconfig
drivers/base/Makefile
drivers/base/dma-contiguous.c [new file with mode: 0644]
include/asm-generic/dma-contiguous.h [new file with mode: 0644]
include/linux/device.h
include/linux/dma-contiguous.h [new file with mode: 0644]