mm: Ensure that pfn_valid() is called once per pageblock when reserving pageblocks
authorMichal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz>
Thu, 8 Dec 2011 22:34:27 +0000 (14:34 -0800)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
Wed, 21 Dec 2011 20:58:23 +0000 (12:58 -0800)
commit2b5650085aa82f04312a9451bbfc45d809580055
tree44d17c28307bd1529d5849c941dc5fb9a1b822ac
parentd13226b503ebfb6d1191dad27e0b0cda8796f73a
mm: Ensure that pfn_valid() is called once per pageblock when reserving pageblocks

commit d021563888312018ca65681096f62e36c20e63cc upstream.

setup_zone_migrate_reserve() expects that zone->start_pfn starts at
pageblock_nr_pages aligned pfn otherwise we could access beyond an
existing memblock resulting in the following panic if
CONFIG_HOLES_IN_ZONE is not configured and we do not check pfn_valid:

  IP: [<c02d331d>] setup_zone_migrate_reserve+0xcd/0x180
  *pdpt = 0000000000000000 *pde = f000ff53f000ff53
  Oops: 0000 [#1] SMP
  Pid: 1, comm: swapper Not tainted 3.0.7-0.7-pae #1 VMware, Inc. VMware Virtual Platform/440BX Desktop Reference Platform
  EIP: 0060:[<c02d331d>] EFLAGS: 00010006 CPU: 0
  EIP is at setup_zone_migrate_reserve+0xcd/0x180
  EAX: 000c0000 EBX: f5801fc0 ECX: 000c0000 EDX: 00000000
  ESI: 000c01fe EDI: 000c01fe EBP: 00140000 ESP: f2475f58
  DS: 007b ES: 007b FS: 00d8 GS: 0000 SS: 0068
  Process swapper (pid: 1, ti=f2474000 task=f2472cd0 task.ti=f2474000)
  Call Trace:
  [<c02d389c>] __setup_per_zone_wmarks+0xec/0x160
  [<c02d3a1f>] setup_per_zone_wmarks+0xf/0x20
  [<c08a771c>] init_per_zone_wmark_min+0x27/0x86
  [<c020111b>] do_one_initcall+0x2b/0x160
  [<c086639d>] kernel_init+0xbe/0x157
  [<c05cae26>] kernel_thread_helper+0x6/0xd
  Code: a5 39 f5 89 f7 0f 46 fd 39 cf 76 40 8b 03 f6 c4 08 74 32 eb 91 90 89 c8 c1 e8 0e 0f be 80 80 2f 86 c0 8b 14 85 60 2f 86 c0 89 c8 <2b> 82 b4 12 00 00 c1 e0 05 03 82 ac 12 00 00 8b 00 f6 c4 08 0f
  EIP: [<c02d331d>] setup_zone_migrate_reserve+0xcd/0x180 SS:ESP 0068:f2475f58
  CR2: 00000000000012b4

We crashed in pageblock_is_reserved() when accessing pfn 0xc0000 because
highstart_pfn = 0x36ffe.

The issue was introduced in 3.0-rc1 by 6d3163ce ("mm: check if any page
in a pageblock is reserved before marking it MIGRATE_RESERVE").

Make sure that start_pfn is always aligned to pageblock_nr_pages to
ensure that pfn_valid s always called at the start of each pageblock.
Architectures with holes in pageblocks will be correctly handled by
pfn_valid_within in pageblock_is_reserved.

Signed-off-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz>
Signed-off-by: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Tested-by: Dang Bo <bdang@vmware.com>
Reviewed-by: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: Arve Hjnnevg <arve@android.com>
Cc: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
mm/page_alloc.c