scsi_dh: check queuedata pointer before proceeding further
authorMoger, Babu <Babu.Moger@netapp.com>
Wed, 26 Oct 2011 18:29:38 +0000 (14:29 -0400)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
Fri, 11 Nov 2011 17:44:21 +0000 (09:44 -0800)
commit2ac819e95c1cf0455ba22a8a295f0998df9e33c2
treefb529b0e5bdb597921f9783ec795c799408392f6
parent2753feb58ab8704715aace3ad49ec545ffa8b8a4
scsi_dh: check queuedata pointer before proceeding further

commit a18a920c70d48a8e4a2b750d8a183b3c1a4be514 upstream.

This patch validates sdev pointer in scsi_dh_activate before proceeding further.

Without this check we might see the panic as below. I have seen this
panic multiple times..

Call trace:

 #0 [ffff88007d647b50] machine_kexec at ffffffff81020902
 #1 [ffff88007d647ba0] crash_kexec at ffffffff810875b0
 #2 [ffff88007d647c70] oops_end at ffffffff8139c650
 #3 [ffff88007d647c90] __bad_area_nosemaphore at ffffffff8102dd15
 #4 [ffff88007d647d50] page_fault at ffffffff8139b8cf
    [exception RIP: scsi_dh_activate+0x82]
    RIP: ffffffffa0041922  RSP: ffff88007d647e00  RFLAGS: 00010046
    RAX: 0000000000000000  RBX: 0000000000000000  RCX: 00000000000093c5
    RDX: 00000000000093c5  RSI: ffffffffa02e6640  RDI: ffff88007cc88988
    RBP: 000000000000000f   R8: ffff88007d646000   R9: 0000000000000000
    R10: ffff880082293790  R11: 00000000ffffffff  R12: ffff88007cc88988
    R13: 0000000000000000  R14: 0000000000000286  R15: ffff880037b845e0
    ORIG_RAX: ffffffffffffffff  CS: 0010  SS: 0000
 #5 [ffff88007d647e38] run_workqueue at ffffffff81060268
 #6 [ffff88007d647e78] worker_thread at ffffffff81060386
 #7 [ffff88007d647ee8] kthread at ffffffff81064436
 #8 [ffff88007d647f48] kernel_thread at ffffffff81003fba

Signed-off-by: Babu Moger <babu.moger@netapp.com>
Signed-off-by: James Bottomley <JBottomley@Parallels.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
drivers/scsi/device_handler/scsi_dh.c