rwsem: fix rwsem_is_locked() bugs
authorAmerigo Wang <amwang@redhat.com>
Tue, 15 Dec 2009 02:00:21 +0000 (18:00 -0800)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Tue, 15 Dec 2009 16:53:26 +0000 (08:53 -0800)
commit29671f22a8b6522db3b126a3fdfb208759ce46e3
treec3c434fc07aae30c401fe7662b8e1399b98ffdc2
parent118d52da1816471ac875bb9f1ee51737e82b1d71
rwsem: fix rwsem_is_locked() bugs

rwsem_is_locked() tests ->activity without locks, so we should always keep
->activity consistent.  However, the code in __rwsem_do_wake() breaks this
rule, it updates ->activity after _all_ readers waken up, this may give
some reader a wrong ->activity value, thus cause rwsem_is_locked() behaves
wrong.

Quote from Andrew:

"
- we have one or more processes sleeping in down_read(), waiting for access.

- we wake one or more processes up without altering ->activity

- they start to run and they do rwsem_is_locked().  This incorrectly
  returns "false", because the waker process is still crunching away in
  __rwsem_do_wake().

- the waker now alters ->activity, but it was too late.
"

So we need get a spinlock to protect this.  And rwsem_is_locked() should
not block, thus we use spin_trylock_irqsave().

[akpm@linux-foundation.org: simplify code]
Reported-by: Brian Behlendorf <behlendorf1@llnl.gov>
Cc: Ben Woodard <bwoodard@llnl.gov>
Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: WANG Cong <amwang@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
include/linux/rwsem-spinlock.h
lib/rwsem-spinlock.c