regmap: Fix cache defaults initialization from raw cache defaults
authorLars-Peter Clausen <lars@metafoo.de>
Wed, 15 Feb 2012 09:23:25 +0000 (10:23 +0100)
committerLokesh Pathak <lpathak@nvidia.com>
Mon, 5 Mar 2012 16:01:12 +0000 (08:01 -0800)
commit27eb5ab7eb04b7d83b62f557f05b10b14117af3b
tree9cf4d9d21f2d1c71e14e0b975eded28468e18845
parent7f97efd8b1e6fe8c5cd2173a3e447a7867fffaf6
regmap: Fix cache defaults initialization from raw cache defaults

Currently registers with a value of 0 are ignored when initializing the register
defaults from raw defaults. This worked in the past, because registers without a
explicit default were assumed to have a default value of 0. This was changed in
commit b03622a8 ("regmap: Ensure rbtree syncs registers set to zero properly").
As a result registers, which have a raw default value of 0 are now assumed to
have no default. This again can result in unnecessary writes when syncing the
cache. It will also result in unnecessary reads for e.g. the first update
operation. In the case where readback is not possible this will even let the
update operation fail, if the register has not been written to before.

So this patch removes the check. Instead it adds a check to ignore raw defaults
for registers which are volatile, since those registers are not cached.

Signed-off-by: Lars-Peter Clausen <lars@metafoo.de>
Signed-off-by: Mark Brown <broonie@opensource.wolfsonmicro.com>
Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org
(cherry picked from commit 61cddc57dc14a5dffa0921d9a24fd68edbb374ac)

Change-Id: Iccd58a95a432d222befd8b339fe0c6edd26666bb
Signed-off-by: Laxman Dewangan <ldewangan@nvidia.com>
Reviewed-on: http://git-master/r/87592
drivers/base/regmap/regcache.c