mm: reintroduce and deprecate rlimit based access for SHM_HUGETLB
authorRavikiran G Thirumalai <kiran@scalex86.org>
Tue, 31 Mar 2009 22:21:26 +0000 (15:21 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Wed, 1 Apr 2009 15:59:12 +0000 (08:59 -0700)
commit2584e517320bd48dc8d20e38a2621a2dbe58fade
tree3b94b6c4cc10ab16ab106464e8d32e2e77ad8634
parent8a0bdec194c21c8fdef840989d0d7b742bb5d4bc
mm: reintroduce and deprecate rlimit based access for SHM_HUGETLB

Allow non root users with sufficient mlock rlimits to be able to allocate
hugetlb backed shm for now.  Deprecate this though.  This is being
deprecated because the mlock based rlimit checks for SHM_HUGETLB is not
consistent with mmap based huge page allocations.

Signed-off-by: Ravikiran Thirumalai <kiran@scalex86.org>
Reviewed-by: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>
Cc: William Lee Irwin III <wli@holomorphy.com>
Cc: Adam Litke <agl@us.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Documentation/feature-removal-schedule.txt
fs/hugetlbfs/inode.c