tools/perf: Fix static build of perf tool
authorMathias Krause <minipli@googlemail.com>
Wed, 15 Jun 2011 21:03:38 +0000 (23:03 +0200)
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Thu, 16 Jun 2011 08:17:39 +0000 (10:17 +0200)
commit203db2952bc87f5d610c9ad53a7d02b85897721f
tree215302011c4fa0669e1856466dc077bf9245f0fa
parentafbee42706090fa59dac299c9607e4fd4361ec82
tools/perf: Fix static build of perf tool

To build a statically linked version of the perf tool all needed
libraries must be added in the correct order to get the symbols
resolved. Currently this is broken when, e.g. python or newt
support is enabled -- libpython needs libpthread which is an
unconditional link dependency of the perf tool; libslang needs
libm, another unconditional dependency. To solve the problem in
the long run without the need to keep track of transitive
library dependencies, simply make the linker look at the EXTLIBS
multiple times until it has all symbols resolved.

Signed-off-by: Mathias Krause <minipli@googlemail.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@ghostprotocols.net>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1308171818-20370-1-git-send-email-minipli@googlemail.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
tools/perf/Makefile