[watchdog] hpwdt: fix use of inline assembly
authorLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Fri, 20 Jun 2008 19:19:28 +0000 (12:19 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Fri, 20 Jun 2008 19:25:34 +0000 (12:25 -0700)
commit1f6ef2342972dc7fd623f360f84006e2304eb935
tree4bc32bb53b6203ba570e21025e1385c0f1db6061
parent89f5b7da2a6bad2e84670422ab8192382a5aeb9f
[watchdog] hpwdt: fix use of inline assembly

The inline assembly in drivers/watchdog/hpwdt.c was incredibly broken,
and included all the function prologue and epilogue stuff, even though
it was itself then inside a C function where the compiler would add its
own prologue and epilogue on top of it all.

This then just _happened_ to work if you had exactly the right compiler
version and exactly the right compiler flags, so that gcc just happened
to not create any prologue at all (the gcc-generated epilogue wouldn't
matter, since it would never be reached).

But the more proper way to fix it is to simply not do this.  Move the
inline asm to the top level, with no surrounding function at all (the
better alternative would be to remove the prologue and make it actually
use proper description of the arguments to the inline asm, but that's a
bigger change than the one I'm willing to make right now).

Tested-by: S.Çağlar Onur <caglar@pardus.org.tr>
Acked-by: Thomas Mingarelli <Thomas.Mingarelli@hp.com>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
drivers/watchdog/hpwdt.c