perf, x86: P4 PMU - Don't forget to clear cpuc->active_mask on overflow
authorCyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@gmail.com>
Thu, 21 Apr 2011 15:03:21 +0000 (11:03 -0400)
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Fri, 22 Apr 2011 08:21:34 +0000 (10:21 +0200)
commit1ea5a6afd95a4803900c97ed63a47a883ebe7b3e
tree9a81eaa3a8915daff3135233478c0e7534019374
parentb52c55c6a25e4515b5e075a989ff346fc251ed09
perf, x86: P4 PMU - Don't forget to clear cpuc->active_mask on overflow

It's not enough to simply disable event on overflow the
cpuc->active_mask should be cleared as well otherwise counter
may stall in "active" even in real being already disabled (which
potentially may lead to the situation that user may not use this
counter further).

Don pointed out that:

 " I also noticed this patch fixed some unknown NMIs
   on a P4 when I stressed the box".

Tested-by: Lin Ming <ming.m.lin@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Cyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@openvz.org>
Acked-by: Don Zickus <dzickus@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Don Zickus <dzickus@redhat.com>
Cc: Cyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@gmail.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1303398203-2918-3-git-send-email-dzickus@redhat.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
arch/x86/kernel/cpu/perf_event_p4.c