writeback: double the dirty thresholds
authorWu Fengguang <fengguang.wu@intel.com>
Mon, 23 Mar 2009 00:57:38 +0000 (08:57 +0800)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Thu, 26 Mar 2009 18:01:11 +0000 (11:01 -0700)
commit1b5e62b42b55c509eea04c3c0f25e42c8b35b564
treebe5d783ec67610445828e496706f1e02c74671c1
parent0a1c01c9477602ee8b44548a9405b2c1d587b5a2
writeback: double the dirty thresholds

Enlarge default dirty ratios from 5/10 to 10/20.  This fixes [Bug
#12809] iozone regression with 2.6.29-rc6.

The iozone benchmarks are performed on a 1200M file, with 8GB ram.

  iozone -i 0 -i 1 -i 2 -i 3 -i 4 -r 4k -s 64k -s 512m -s 1200m -b tmp.xls
  iozone -B -r 4k -s 64k -s 512m -s 1200m -b tmp.xls

The performance regression is triggered by commit 1cf6e7d83bf3(mm: task
dirty accounting fix), which makes more correct/thorough dirty
accounting.

The default 5/10 dirty ratios were picked (a) with the old dirty logic
and (b) largely at random and (c) designed to be aggressive.  In
particular, that (a) means that having fixed some of the dirty
accounting, maybe the real bug is now that it was always too aggressive,
just hidden by an accounting issue.

The enlarged 10/20 dirty ratios are just about enough to fix the regression.

[ We will have to look at how this affects the old fsync() latency issue,
  but that probably will need independent work.  - Linus ]

Cc: Nick Piggin <npiggin@suse.de>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Reported-by: "Lin, Ming M" <ming.m.lin@intel.com>
Tested-by: "Lin, Ming M" <ming.m.lin@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Wu Fengguang <fengguang.wu@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
mm/page-writeback.c