drivers: misc: therm_est: Add timer trip support
authorJinyoung Park <jinyoungp@nvidia.com>
Fri, 29 Mar 2013 16:48:57 +0000 (01:48 +0900)
committerMrutyunjay Sawant <msawant@nvidia.com>
Mon, 15 Apr 2013 07:43:08 +0000 (00:43 -0700)
commit1894b17754662f4cdc7a1176a62767fc8a97601c
tree5983098c7ae22083ba09779d0f9903ef60e56339
parent0f0bba3e1a0145e26fdcff6b55d4b40a4936c751
drivers: misc: therm_est: Add timer trip support

Timer trip provides a way to change trip temp dynamically based on timestamp
when the trip is enabled.
- Timer trip can be various numbers on a trip.
- If the trip is enabled, then timer will be started with time_after delay
  in the corresponding timer trip. After the timer expires, trip_temp and
  hysteresis in the corresponding timer trip will be used to trip_temp for
  the trip.
- When the timer has expired, index of timer trip will be increased a step
  and then start the timer with time_after delay in newly indexed timer trip.
- When temp is below trip temp, index of timer trip will be decreased a step
  and then stop the timer and start the timer with time_after delay in newly
  indexed timer trip.
- The timer will be stopped if there is no more next timer trip on the trip,
  or the trip is disabled.

This change is based on http://git-master/r/198853 which is the timer
trip on Rel-16. The difference between two changes is that this change
can be used timer trip on multiple trip points, but the previous change
on Rel-16 can be used timer trip on only a trip point.

Bug 1233363
Bug 1236444

Change-Id: I999f496862fe131e4209b25b308f2223ac7cc350
Signed-off-by: Jinyoung Park <jinyoungp@nvidia.com>
Reviewed-on: http://git-master/r/214612
Reviewed-by: Automatic_Commit_Validation_User
Reviewed-by: Edward Riegelsberger <eriegels@nvidia.com>
Reviewed-by: Diwakar Tundlam <dtundlam@nvidia.com>
drivers/misc/therm_est.c
include/linux/therm_est.h