hotplug-memory: make online_page() common
authorJeremy Fitzhardinge <jeremy@goop.org>
Mon, 28 Apr 2008 09:12:03 +0000 (02:12 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Mon, 28 Apr 2008 15:58:17 +0000 (08:58 -0700)
commit180c06efce691f2b721dd0d965079827bdd7ee03
tree6d5dbde8f341544bbd212e9d376af1e7880a4229
parentea01ea937dcae2caa146dea1918cccf2f16ed3c4
hotplug-memory: make online_page() common

All architectures use an effectively identical definition of online_page(), so
just make it common code.  x86-64, ia64, powerpc and sh are actually
identical; x86-32 is slightly different.

x86-32's differences arise because it puts its hotplug pages in the highmem
zone.  We can handle this in the generic code by inspecting the page to see if
its in highmem, and update the totalhigh_pages count appropriately.  This
leaves init_32.c:free_new_highpage with a single caller, so I folded it into
add_one_highpage_init.

I also removed an incorrect comment referring to the NUMA case; any NUMA
details have already been dealt with by the time online_page() is called.

[akpm@linux-foundation.org: fix indenting]
Signed-off-by: Jeremy Fitzhardinge <jeremy.fitzhardinge@citrix.com>
Acked-by: Dave Hansen <dave@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Reviewed-by: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamez.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
Tested-by: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamez.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Yasunori Goto <y-goto@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Christoph Lameter <clameter@sgi.com>
Acked-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Acked-by: Yasunori Goto <y-goto@jp.fujitsu.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
arch/ia64/mm/init.c
arch/powerpc/mm/mem.c
arch/sh/mm/init.c
arch/x86/mm/init_32.c
arch/x86/mm/init_64.c
mm/memory_hotplug.c