posix clocks: Replace mutex with reader/writer semaphore
authorRichard Cochran <richardcochran@gmail.com>
Wed, 30 Mar 2011 13:24:21 +0000 (15:24 +0200)
committerThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Mon, 18 Apr 2011 08:39:38 +0000 (10:39 +0200)
commit1791f881435fab951939ad700e947b66c062e083
tree53739cfe3847e425b9bb64f22bc7526da26a9a0c
parenta1b49cb7e2a7961ec3aa8b64860bf480d4ec9077
posix clocks: Replace mutex with reader/writer semaphore

A dynamic posix clock is protected from asynchronous removal by a mutex.
However, using a mutex has the unwanted effect that a long running clock
operation in one process will unnecessarily block other processes.

For example, one process might call read() to get an external time stamp
coming in at one pulse per second. A second process calling clock_gettime
would have to wait for almost a whole second.

This patch fixes the issue by using a reader/writer semaphore instead of
a mutex.

Signed-off-by: Richard Cochran <richard.cochran@omicron.at>
Cc: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/%3C20110330132421.GA31771%40riccoc20.at.omicron.at%3E
Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
include/linux/posix-clock.h
kernel/time/posix-clock.c