ARM: pm: no need to save/restore context ID register
authorRussell King <rmk+kernel@arm.linux.org.uk>
Sun, 28 Aug 2011 09:30:34 +0000 (10:30 +0100)
committerSimone Willett <swillett@nvidia.com>
Fri, 6 Apr 2012 00:52:29 +0000 (17:52 -0700)
commit16e0bb8c46656b1d902d422e0065c746af161a1c
tree5ad5297077f6ef6710b773e65af318343ec3ca18
parent5682179d980e1a70bcf37fd97a14e27a2ddde822
ARM: pm: no need to save/restore context ID register

There is no need to save and restore the context ID register on ARMv6
and ARMv7 with a temporary page table as we write the context ID
register when we switch back to the real page tables for the thread.

Moreover, the temporary page tables do not contain any non-global
mappings, so the context ID value should not be used.  To be safe,
initialize the register to a reserved context ID value.

Change-Id: I7de05e736dde5bc1b8ab682a8660eaaba52104cf
Tested-by: Santosh Shilimkar <santosh.shilimkar@ti.com>
Tested-by: Shawn Guo <shawn.guo@linaro.org>
Tested-by: Lorenzo Pieralisi <lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com>
Signed-off-by: Russell King <rmk+kernel@arm.linux.org.uk>
Signed-off-by: Varun Wadekar <vwadekar@nvidia.com>
Reviewed-on: http://git-master/r/85727
Reviewed-by: Automatic_Commit_Validation_User
arch/arm/mm/proc-v6.S
arch/arm/mm/proc-v7.S