debugobjects: Fix boot crash when kmemleak and debugobjects enabled
authorMarcin Slusarz <marcin.slusarz@gmail.com>
Sat, 28 May 2011 11:23:42 +0000 (13:23 +0200)
committerThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Mon, 20 Jun 2011 12:38:43 +0000 (14:38 +0200)
commit161b6ae0e067e421b20bb35caf66bdb405c929ac
treeef8d7eb7d8b9acdfb6c6df40df771c6978d03132
parentf8b7fc6b514f34a51875dd48dff70d4d17a54f38
debugobjects: Fix boot crash when kmemleak and debugobjects enabled

Order of initialization look like this:
...
debugobjects
kmemleak
...(lots of other subsystems)...
workqueues (through early initcall)
...

debugobjects use schedule_work for batch freeing of its data and kmemleak
heavily use debugobjects, so when it comes to freeing and workqueues were
not initialized yet, kernel crashes:

BUG: unable to handle kernel NULL pointer dereference at           (null)
IP: [<ffffffff810854d1>] __queue_work+0x29/0x41a
 [<ffffffff81085910>] queue_work_on+0x16/0x1d
 [<ffffffff81085abc>] queue_work+0x29/0x55
 [<ffffffff81085afb>] schedule_work+0x13/0x15
 [<ffffffff81242de1>] free_object+0x90/0x95
 [<ffffffff81242f6d>] debug_check_no_obj_freed+0x187/0x1d3
 [<ffffffff814b6504>] ? _raw_spin_unlock_irqrestore+0x30/0x4d
 [<ffffffff8110bd14>] ? free_object_rcu+0x68/0x6d
 [<ffffffff8110890c>] kmem_cache_free+0x64/0x12c
 [<ffffffff8110bd14>] free_object_rcu+0x68/0x6d
 [<ffffffff810b58bc>] __rcu_process_callbacks+0x1b6/0x2d9
...

because system_wq is NULL.

Fix it by checking if workqueues susbystem was initialized before using.

Signed-off-by: Marcin Slusarz <marcin.slusarz@gmail.com>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Cc: Dipankar Sarma <dipankar@in.ibm.com>
Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: stable@kernel.org
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20110528112342.GA3068@joi.lan
Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
lib/debugobjects.c