ptrace: the killed tracee should not enter the syscall
authorOleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Fri, 23 Mar 2012 22:02:39 +0000 (15:02 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Fri, 23 Mar 2012 23:58:40 +0000 (16:58 -0700)
commit15cab952139404d0e593cb1aaab0a3547ac0f95b
tree0b8554db2eadd6782774e4448e43fb40dcc11c35
parentd533df07c20c7b59b0559a3ac38fb45c81ffd6bb
ptrace: the killed tracee should not enter the syscall

Another old/known problem.  If the tracee is killed after it reports
syscall_entry, it starts the syscall and debugger can't control this.
This confuses the users and this creates the security problems for
ptrace jailers.

Change tracehook_report_syscall_entry() to return non-zero if killed,
this instructs syscall_trace_enter() to abort the syscall.

Reported-by: Chris Evans <scarybeasts@gmail.com>
Tested-by: Indan Zupancic <indan@nul.nu>
Signed-off-by: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Cc: Denys Vlasenko <vda.linux@googlemail.com>
Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Cc: Pedro Alves <palves@redhat.com>
Cc: Jan Kratochvil <jan.kratochvil@redhat.com>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
include/linux/tracehook.h