vmscan: update isolated page counters outside of main path in shrink_inactive_list()
authorMel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>
Tue, 10 Aug 2010 00:19:33 +0000 (17:19 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Tue, 10 Aug 2010 03:45:00 +0000 (20:45 -0700)
commit1489fa14cb757b496c8fa2b63097dbcee6690695
tree288905eab717db3cf1f6b7419e1989e89411ce04
parentabe4c3b50c3f25cb1baf56036024860f12f96015
vmscan: update isolated page counters outside of main path in shrink_inactive_list()

When shrink_inactive_list() isolates pages, it updates a number of
counters using temporary variables to gather them.  These consume stack
and it's in the main path that calls ->writepage().  This patch moves the
accounting updates outside of the main path to reduce stack usage.

Signed-off-by: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>
Reviewed-by: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Acked-by: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Dave Chinner <david@fromorbit.com>
Cc: Chris Mason <chris.mason@oracle.com>
Cc: Nick Piggin <npiggin@suse.de>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>
Cc: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Michael Rubin <mrubin@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
mm/vmscan.c