x86: Simplify code by removing a !SMP #ifdefs from 'struct cpuinfo_x86'
authorKevin Winchester <kjwinchester@gmail.com>
Wed, 21 Dec 2011 00:52:22 +0000 (20:52 -0400)
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Wed, 21 Dec 2011 08:25:09 +0000 (09:25 +0100)
commit141168c36cdee3ff23d9c7700b0edc47cb65479f
tree9b307514252062a7bd0cfa593e56e1843975e1c2
parentb49d7d877ff96428c8cd2076b33ba72bf85ceaba
x86: Simplify code by removing a !SMP #ifdefs from 'struct cpuinfo_x86'

Several fields in struct cpuinfo_x86 were not defined for the
!SMP case, likely to save space.  However, those fields still
have some meaning for UP, and keeping them allows some #ifdef
removal from other files.  The additional size of the UP kernel
from this change is not significant enough to worry about
keeping up the distinction:

   text    data     bss     dec     hex filename
4737168  506459  972040 6215667  5ed7f3 vmlinux.o.before
4737444  506459  972040 6215943  5ed907 vmlinux.o.after

for a difference of 276 bytes for an example UP config.

If someone wants those 276 bytes back badly then it should
be implemented in a cleaner way.

Signed-off-by: Kevin Winchester <kjwinchester@gmail.com>
Cc: Steffen Persvold <sp@numascale.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1324428742-12498-1-git-send-email-kjwinchester@gmail.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
arch/x86/include/asm/processor.h
arch/x86/kernel/amd_nb.c
arch/x86/kernel/cpu/amd.c
arch/x86/kernel/cpu/common.c
arch/x86/kernel/cpu/intel.c
arch/x86/kernel/cpu/mcheck/mce.c
arch/x86/kernel/cpu/mcheck/mce_amd.c
arch/x86/kernel/cpu/proc.c
drivers/edac/sb_edac.c
drivers/hwmon/coretemp.c