mm compaction: fix of improper cache flush in migration code
authorLeonid Yegoshin <Leonid.Yegoshin@imgtec.com>
Fri, 24 May 2013 22:55:18 +0000 (15:55 -0700)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Fri, 7 Jun 2013 19:49:13 +0000 (12:49 -0700)
commit11e88c5e7bbb812ed25f1e6a8e98d334f0e7dc38
treef15d8065f22fa06aaba34d3e3b5dee7f8fbe867a
parent03908608b9a65cb8564ba19caa7608dd470ec4cb
mm compaction: fix of improper cache flush in migration code

commit c2cc499c5bcf9040a738f49e8051b42078205748 upstream.

Page 'new' during MIGRATION can't be flushed with flush_cache_page().
Using flush_cache_page(vma, addr, pfn) is justified only if the page is
already placed in process page table, and that is done right after
flush_cache_page().  But without it the arch function has no knowledge
of process PTE and does nothing.

Besides that, flush_cache_page() flushes an application cache page, but
the kernel has a different page virtual address and dirtied it.

Replace it with flush_dcache_page(new) which is the proper usage.

The old page is flushed in try_to_unmap_one() before migration.

This bug takes place in Sead3 board with M14Kc MIPS CPU without cache
aliasing (but Harvard arch - separate I and D cache) in tight memory
environment (128MB) each 1-3days on SOAK test.  It fails in cc1 during
kernel build (SIGILL, SIGBUS, SIGSEG) if CONFIG_COMPACTION is switched
ON.

Signed-off-by: Leonid Yegoshin <Leonid.Yegoshin@imgtec.com>
Cc: Leonid Yegoshin <yegoshin@mips.com>
Acked-by: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz>
Acked-by: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk>
Cc: David Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
mm/migrate.c