writeback: Fix periodic writeback after fs mount
authorJan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
Fri, 28 Jun 2013 14:04:02 +0000 (16:04 +0200)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Sun, 28 Jul 2013 23:26:08 +0000 (16:26 -0700)
commit1150363e16fb0b830131d70b2158664483fb0147
tree2b7af09e235a4a8bcff35c7a109690aba1938df2
parent4ae71fc80a0d7efdec8d1218cf188240eb655f38
writeback: Fix periodic writeback after fs mount

commit a5faeaf9109578e65e1a32e2a3e76c8b47e7dcb6 upstream.

Code in blkdev.c moves a device inode to default_backing_dev_info when
the last reference to the device is put and moves the device inode back
to its bdi when the first reference is acquired. This includes moving to
wb.b_dirty list if the device inode is dirty. The code however doesn't
setup timer to wake corresponding flusher thread and while wb.b_dirty
list is non-empty __mark_inode_dirty() will not set it up either. Thus
periodic writeback is effectively disabled until a sync(2) call which can
lead to unexpected data loss in case of crash or power failure.

Fix the problem by setting up a timer for periodic writeback in case we
add the first dirty inode to wb.b_dirty list in bdev_inode_switch_bdi().

Reported-by: Bert De Jonghe <Bert.DeJonghe@amplidata.com>
Signed-off-by: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
Signed-off-by: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
fs/block_dev.c