scripts/Kbuild.include: Fix portability problem of "echo -e"
authorBernhard Walle <bernhard@bwalle.de>
Sun, 26 Feb 2012 17:35:18 +0000 (18:35 +0100)
committerSimone Willett <swillett@nvidia.com>
Mon, 23 Jul 2012 17:39:14 +0000 (10:39 -0700)
commit1148982c9a04d1cab9c878bc67fe4a369485105a
treebda8e41701971b807a4128cc43ee17bc9304255d
parent87227c90f67895ddda5dab4b0c3b12ebcc6bb145
scripts/Kbuild.include: Fix portability problem of "echo -e"

"echo -e" is a GNU extension. When cross-compiling the kernel on a
BSD-like operating system (Mac OS X in my case), this doesn't work.

One could install a GNU version of echo, put that in the $PATH before
the system echo and use "/usr/bin/env echo", but the solution with
printf is simpler.

Since it is no disadvantage on Linux, I hope that gets accepted even if
cross-compiling the Linux kernel on another Unix operating system is
quite a rare use case.

(Cherry-picked from upstream v3.4 commit
875de98623fa2b29f0cb19915fe3292ab6daa1cb)

Signed-off-by: Bernhard Walle <bernhard@bwalle.de>
Andreas Bieƃ\237mann <andreas@biessmann.de>
Signed-off-by: Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz>
Signed-off-by: Nuno Subtil <nsubtil@nvidia.com>

Change-Id: Iddfeae6611a82e76a5d7cecbc1af25d4fdc71ecc
Reviewed-on: http://git-master/r/116918
Reviewed-by: Donghan Ryu <dryu@nvidia.com>
Reviewed-by: Dan Willemsen <dwillemsen@nvidia.com>
Tested-by: Nuno Subtil <nsubtil@nvidia.com>
scripts/Kbuild.include