ipr: Always initiate hard reset in kdump kernel
authorAnton Blanchard <anton@samba.org>
Mon, 1 Aug 2011 09:43:45 +0000 (19:43 +1000)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
Fri, 11 Nov 2011 17:42:30 +0000 (09:42 -0800)
commit101e5772280589d83f2a9f56d62faa42285d5f65
tree8c3593c6480404461d7224a23ccc77f871606a88
parent50311c8ba6d62ef6e35ffdc3081a83ce7087bf15
ipr: Always initiate hard reset in kdump kernel

commit 5d7c20b7fa5c6ca19e871b4050e321c99d32bd43 upstream.

During kdump testing I noticed timeouts when initialising each IPR
adapter. While the driver has logic to detect an adapter in an
indeterminate state, it wasn't triggering and each adapter went
through a 5 minute timeout before finally going operational.

Some analysis showed the needs_hard_reset flag wasn't getting set.
We can check the reset_devices kernel parameter which is set by
kdump and force a full reset. This fixes the problem.

Signed-off-by: Anton Blanchard <anton@samba.org>
Acked-by: Brian King <brking@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: James Bottomley <JBottomley@Parallels.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
drivers/scsi/ipr.c