UBIFS: make space fixup work in the remount case
authorArtem Bityutskiy <artem.bityutskiy@linux.intel.com>
Thu, 14 Mar 2013 08:49:23 +0000 (10:49 +0200)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Fri, 12 Apr 2013 16:38:43 +0000 (09:38 -0700)
commit0d18994cb19855aa6ea892985c19aa54e4192fb0
tree9ee55a7eb1a626eb2c248d79d6b65528e47872d1
parenta41c384e8308a7d25fa778f0b24656ef50e05766
UBIFS: make space fixup work in the remount case

commit 67e753ca41782913d805ff4a8a2b0f60b26b7915 upstream.

The UBIFS space fixup is a useful feature which allows to fixup the "broken"
flash space at the time of the first mount. The "broken" space is usually the
result of using a "dumb" industrial flasher which is not able to skip empty
NAND pages and just writes all 0xFFs to the empty space, which has grave
side-effects for UBIFS when UBIFS trise to write useful data to those empty
pages.

The fix-up feature works roughly like this:
1. mkfs.ubifs sets the fixup flag in UBIFS superblock when creating the image
   (see -F option)
2. when the file-system is mounted for the first time, UBIFS notices the fixup
   flag and re-writes the entire media atomically, which may take really a lot
   of time.
3. UBIFS clears the fixup flag in the superblock.

This works fine when the file system is mounted R/W for the very first time.
But it did not really work in the case when we first mount the file-system R/O,
and then re-mount R/W. The reason was that we started the fixup procedure too
late, which we cannot really do because we have to fixup the space before it
starts being used.

Signed-off-by: Artem Bityutskiy <artem.bityutskiy@linux.intel.com>
Reported-by: Mark Jackson <mpfj-list@mimc.co.uk>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
fs/ubifs/super.c