mm: kswapd: use the order that kswapd was reclaiming at for sleeping_prematurely()
authorMel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>
Thu, 13 Jan 2011 23:46:22 +0000 (15:46 -0800)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Fri, 14 Jan 2011 01:32:37 +0000 (17:32 -0800)
commit0abdee2bd4118366c62349a304f81537be69af33
treec013abd2dd49b3837d033eb4d32dfb57984d273e
parent1741c87757448cedd03224f01586504f9256415d
mm: kswapd: use the order that kswapd was reclaiming at for sleeping_prematurely()

Before kswapd goes to sleep, it uses sleeping_prematurely() to check if
there was a race pushing a zone below its watermark.  If the race
happened, it stays awake.  However, balance_pgdat() can decide to reclaim
at order-0 if it decides that high-order reclaim is not working as
expected.  This information is not passed back to sleeping_prematurely().
The impact is that kswapd remains awake reclaiming pages long after it
should have gone to sleep.  This patch passes the adjusted order to
sleeping_prematurely and uses the same logic as balance_pgdat to decide if
it's ok to go to sleep.

Signed-off-by: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>
Reviewed-by: Minchan Kim <minchan.kim@gmail.com>
Reviewed-by: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
Reviewed-by: Eric B Munson <emunson@mgebm.net>
Cc: Simon Kirby <sim@hostway.ca>
Cc: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Shaohua Li <shaohua.li@intel.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
mm/vmscan.c