mm: cleancache core ops functions and config
authorDan Magenheimer <dan.magenheimer@oracle.com>
Thu, 26 May 2011 16:01:36 +0000 (10:01 -0600)
committerDan Magenheimer <dan.magenheimer@oracle.com>
Thu, 26 May 2011 16:01:36 +0000 (10:01 -0600)
commit077b1f83a69d94f2918630a882d74939baca0bce
tree96c47594b48df7dd588e3d8827f0ac151c350bc0
parent9fdfdcf17151e8326c4d18cc133abc6e58f47568
mm: cleancache core ops functions and config

This third patch of eight in this cleancache series provides
the core code for cleancache that interfaces between the hooks in
VFS and individual filesystems and a cleancache backend.  It also
includes build and config patches.

Two new files are added: mm/cleancache.c and include/linux/cleancache.h.

Note that CONFIG_CLEANCACHE can default to on; in systems that do
not provide a cleancache backend, all hooks devolve to a simple
check of a global enable flag, so performance impact should
be negligible but can be reduced to zero impact if config'ed off.
However for this first commit, it defaults to off.

Details and a FAQ can be found in Documentation/vm/cleancache.txt

Credits: Cleancache_ops design derived from Jeremy Fitzhardinge
design for tmem

[v8: dan.magenheimer@oracle.com: fix exportfs call affecting btrfs]
[v8: akpm@linux-foundation.org: use static inline function, not macro]
[v7: dan.magenheimer@oracle.com: cleanup sysfs and remove cleancache prefix]
[v6: JBeulich@novell.com: robustly handle buggy fs encode_fh actor definition]
[v5: jeremy@goop.org: clean up global usage and static var names]
[v5: jeremy@goop.org: simplify init hook and any future fs init changes]
[v5: hch@infradead.org: cleaner non-global interface for ops registration]
[v4: adilger@sun.com: interface must support exportfs FS's]
[v4: hch@infradead.org: interface must support 64-bit FS on 32-bit kernel]
[v3: akpm@linux-foundation.org: use one ops struct to avoid pointer hops]
[v3: akpm@linux-foundation.org: document and ensure PageLocked reqts are met]
[v3: ngupta@vflare.org: fix success/fail codes, change funcs to void]
[v2: viro@ZenIV.linux.org.uk: use sane types]
Signed-off-by: Dan Magenheimer <dan.magenheimer@oracle.com>
Reviewed-by: Jeremy Fitzhardinge <jeremy@goop.org>
Reviewed-by: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>
Acked-by: Al Viro <viro@ZenIV.linux.org.uk>
Acked-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Acked-by: Nitin Gupta <ngupta@vflare.org>
Acked-by: Minchan Kim <minchan.kim@gmail.com>
Acked-by: Andreas Dilger <adilger@sun.com>
Acked-by: Jan Beulich <JBeulich@novell.com>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <matthew@wil.cx>
Cc: Nick Piggin <npiggin@kernel.dk>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>
Cc: Rik Van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Chris Mason <chris.mason@oracle.com>
Cc: Ted Ts'o <tytso@mit.edu>
Cc: Mark Fasheh <mfasheh@suse.com>
Cc: Joel Becker <joel.becker@oracle.com>
include/linux/cleancache.h [new file with mode: 0644]
mm/Kconfig
mm/Makefile
mm/cleancache.c [new file with mode: 0644]