sched: Fix OOPS when build_sched_domains() percpu allocation fails
authorhe, bo <bo.he@intel.com>
Wed, 25 Apr 2012 11:59:21 +0000 (19:59 +0800)
committerVarun Wadekar <vwadekar@nvidia.com>
Mon, 30 Apr 2012 12:33:06 +0000 (17:33 +0530)
commit05d4624f551810df5d6588ee62be17cc8c8f874d
tree712641cd22b145fc115ab4ea408db927c58e7722
parenta3af0a6ca9a8bb66874143f661d05d4ce6517636
sched: Fix OOPS when build_sched_domains() percpu allocation fails

Under extreme memory used up situations, percpu allocation
might fail. We hit it when system goes to suspend-to-ram,
causing a kworker panic:

 EIP: [<c124411a>] build_sched_domains+0x23a/0xad0
 Kernel panic - not syncing: Fatal exception
 Pid: 3026, comm: kworker/u:3
 3.0.8-137473-gf42fbef #1

 Call Trace:
  [<c18cc4f2>] panic+0x66/0x16c
  [...]
  [<c1244c37>] partition_sched_domains+0x287/0x4b0
  [<c12a77be>] cpuset_update_active_cpus+0x1fe/0x210
  [<c123712d>] cpuset_cpu_inactive+0x1d/0x30
  [...]

With this fix applied build_sched_domains() will return -ENOMEM and
the suspend attempt fails.

Signed-off-by: he, bo <bo.he@intel.com>
Reviewed-by: Zhang, Yanmin <yanmin.zhang@intel.com>
Reviewed-by: Srivatsa S. Bhat <srivatsa.bhat@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: <stable@kernel.org>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1335355161.5892.17.camel@hebo
[ So, we fail to deallocate a CPU because we cannot allocate RAM :-/
  I don't like that kind of sad behavior but nevertheless it should
  not crash under high memory load. ]
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
kernel/sched/core.c