FS-Cache: Release page->private after failed readahead
authorDavid Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
Fri, 3 Apr 2009 15:42:35 +0000 (16:42 +0100)
committerDavid Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
Fri, 3 Apr 2009 15:42:35 +0000 (16:42 +0100)
commit03fb3d2af96c2783c3a5bc03f3d984cf422f0e69
tree6618f82f8be26ba2c7ac38d6e6e16befc8e1140f
parent8f0aa2f25b31ba27db84259141e52ee6ec0d2820
FS-Cache: Release page->private after failed readahead

The attached patch causes read_cache_pages() to release page-private data on a
page for which add_to_page_cache() fails.  If the filler function fails, then
the problematic page is left attached to the pagecache (with appropriate flags
set, one presumes) and the remaining to-be-attached pages are invalidated and
discarded.  This permits pages with caching references associated with them to
be cleaned up.

The invalidatepage() address space op is called (indirectly) to do the honours.

Signed-off-by: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
Acked-by: Steve Dickson <steved@redhat.com>
Acked-by: Trond Myklebust <Trond.Myklebust@netapp.com>
Acked-by: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Acked-by: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Tested-by: Daire Byrne <Daire.Byrne@framestore.com>
include/linux/page-flags.h
mm/readahead.c