pagewalk: only split huge pages when necessary
authorDave Hansen <dave@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Tue, 22 Mar 2011 23:32:56 +0000 (16:32 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Wed, 23 Mar 2011 00:44:04 +0000 (17:44 -0700)
commit033193275b3ffcfe7f3fde7b569f3d207f6cd6a0
treefc65fa02248f855f0f63e087f35a507b6abb5617
parent278df9f451dc71dcd002246be48358a473504ad0
pagewalk: only split huge pages when necessary

Right now, if a mm_walk has either ->pte_entry or ->pmd_entry set, it will
unconditionally split any transparent huge pages it runs in to.  In
practice, that means that anyone doing a

cat /proc/$pid/smaps

will unconditionally break down every huge page in the process and depend
on khugepaged to re-collapse it later.  This is fairly suboptimal.

This patch changes that behavior.  It teaches each ->pmd_entry handler
(there are five) that they must break down the THPs themselves.  Also, the
_generic_ code will never break down a THP unless a ->pte_entry handler is
actually set.

This means that the ->pmd_entry handlers can now choose to deal with THPs
without breaking them down.

[akpm@linux-foundation.org: coding-style fixes]
Signed-off-by: Dave Hansen <dave@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Acked-by: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>
Acked-by: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Reviewed-by: Eric B Munson <emunson@mgebm.net>
Tested-by: Eric B Munson <emunson@mgebm.net>
Cc: Michael J Wolf <mjwolf@us.ibm.com>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Cc: Matt Mackall <mpm@selenic.com>
Cc: Jeremy Fitzhardinge <jeremy@goop.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
fs/proc/task_mmu.c
include/linux/mm.h
mm/memcontrol.c
mm/pagewalk.c