block: rescan partitions on invalidated devices on -ENOMEDIA too
authorTejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Fri, 29 Apr 2011 08:15:20 +0000 (10:15 +0200)
committerJens Axboe <jaxboe@fusionio.com>
Fri, 29 Apr 2011 08:17:26 +0000 (10:17 +0200)
commit02e352287a40bd456eb78df705bf888bc3161d3f
treeaa6462a305d17a52d8a717640bbd558f49f1834e
parentbf2253a6f00e8fea5b026e471e9f0d0a1b3621f2
block: rescan partitions on invalidated devices on -ENOMEDIA too

__blkdev_get() doesn't rescan partitions if disk->fops->open() fails,
which leads to ghost partition devices lingering after medimum removal
is known to both the kernel and userland.  The behavior also creates a
subtle inconsistency where O_NONBLOCK open, which doesn't fail even if
there's no medium, clears the ghots partitions, which is exploited to
work around the problem from userland.

Fix it by updating __blkdev_get() to issue partition rescan after
-ENOMEDIA too.

This was reported in the following bz.

 https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=13029

Stable: 2.6.38

Signed-off-by: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Reported-by: David Zeuthen <zeuthen@gmail.com>
Reported-by: Martin Pitt <martin.pitt@ubuntu.com>
Reported-by: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@vrfy.org>
Tested-by: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@vrfy.org>
Cc: Alan Cox <alan@lxorguk.ukuu.org.uk>
Cc: stable@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Jens Axboe <jaxboe@fusionio.com>
fs/block_dev.c