revert "percpu_counter: new function percpu_counter_sum_and_set"
authorAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Tue, 9 Dec 2008 21:14:14 +0000 (13:14 -0800)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Wed, 10 Dec 2008 16:01:52 +0000 (08:01 -0800)
commit02d211688727ad02bb4555b1aa8ae2de16b21b39
tree2ee10b2f0cbfb615c40a2df98627426b8543d6cd
parent71c5576fbd809f2015f4eddf72e501e298720cf3
revert "percpu_counter: new function percpu_counter_sum_and_set"

Revert

    commit e8ced39d5e8911c662d4d69a342b9d053eaaac4e
    Author: Mingming Cao <cmm@us.ibm.com>
    Date:   Fri Jul 11 19:27:31 2008 -0400

        percpu_counter: new function percpu_counter_sum_and_set

As described in

revert "percpu counter: clean up percpu_counter_sum_and_set()"

the new percpu_counter_sum_and_set() is racy against updates to the
cpu-local accumulators on other CPUs.  Revert that change.

This means that ext4 will be slow again.  But correct.

Reported-by: Eric Dumazet <dada1@cosmosbay.com>
Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: Mingming Cao <cmm@us.ibm.com>
Cc: <linux-ext4@vger.kernel.org>
Cc: <stable@kernel.org> [2.6.27.x]
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
fs/ext4/balloc.c
include/linux/percpu_counter.h
lib/percpu_counter.c