KEYS: Fix bug in keyctl_session_to_parent() if parent has no session keyring
authorDavid Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
Fri, 10 Sep 2010 08:59:51 +0000 (09:59 +0100)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Fri, 10 Sep 2010 14:30:00 +0000 (07:30 -0700)
commit3d96406c7da1ed5811ea52a3b0905f4f0e295376
tree051e3a0ab6b0c9d9ac12b88fd244ff09766f8f50
parent9d1ac65a9698513d00e5608d93fca0c53f536c14
KEYS: Fix bug in keyctl_session_to_parent() if parent has no session keyring

Fix a bug in keyctl_session_to_parent() whereby it tries to check the ownership
of the parent process's session keyring whether or not the parent has a session
keyring [CVE-2010-2960].

This results in the following oops:

  BUG: unable to handle kernel NULL pointer dereference at 00000000000000a0
  IP: [<ffffffff811ae4dd>] keyctl_session_to_parent+0x251/0x443
  ...
  Call Trace:
   [<ffffffff811ae2f3>] ? keyctl_session_to_parent+0x67/0x443
   [<ffffffff8109d286>] ? __do_fault+0x24b/0x3d0
   [<ffffffff811af98c>] sys_keyctl+0xb4/0xb8
   [<ffffffff81001eab>] system_call_fastpath+0x16/0x1b

if the parent process has no session keyring.

If the system is using pam_keyinit then it mostly protected against this as all
processes derived from a login will have inherited the session keyring created
by pam_keyinit during the log in procedure.

To test this, pam_keyinit calls need to be commented out in /etc/pam.d/.

Reported-by: Tavis Ormandy <taviso@cmpxchg8b.com>
Signed-off-by: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
Acked-by: Tavis Ormandy <taviso@cmpxchg8b.com>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
security/keys/keyctl.c