PNP: do not test PNP_DRIVER_RES_DO_NOT_CHANGE on suspend/resume
authorRene Herman <rene.herman@keyaccess.nl>
Wed, 6 Feb 2008 09:40:05 +0000 (01:40 -0800)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@woody.linux-foundation.org>
Wed, 6 Feb 2008 18:41:20 +0000 (10:41 -0800)
commit5d38998ed15b31f524bde9a193d60150af30d916
tree7f937b606d0ed6879e15b12d7937eba5d0d50eab
parentb3bd86e2fdce01d6b49271a553d2a18b3e0510f3
PNP: do not test PNP_DRIVER_RES_DO_NOT_CHANGE on suspend/resume

The PNP_DRIVER_RES_DO_NOT_CHANGE flag is meant to signify that the PNP core
should not change resources for the device -- not that it shouldn't
disable/enable the device on suspend/resume.

ALSA ISAPnP drivers set PNP_DRIVER_RES_DO_NOT_CHANAGE (0x0001) through
setting PNP_DRIVER_RES_DISABLE (0x0003).  The latter including the former
may in itself be considered rather unexpected but doesn't change that
suspend/resume wouldn't seem to have any business testing the flag.

As reported by Ondrej Zary for snd-cs4236, ALSA driven ISAPnP cards don't
survive swsusp hibernation with the resume skipping setting the resources
due to testing the flag -- the same test in the suspend path isn't enough
to keep hibernation from disabling the card it seems.

These tests were added (in 2005) by Piere Ossman in commit
68094e3251a664ee1389fcf179497237cbf78331, "alsa: Improved PnP suspend
support" who doesn't remember why.  This deletes them.

Signed-off-by: Rene Herman <rene.herman@gmail.com>
Tested-by: Ondrej Zary <linux@rainbow-software.org>
Cc: Bjorn Helgaas <bjorn.helgaas@hp.com>
Cc: Pierre Ossman <drzeus@drzeus.cx>
Cc: Adam Belay <ambx1@neo.rr.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
drivers/pnp/driver.c