x86-64: fix int $0x80 -ENOSYS return
authorRoland McGrath <roland@redhat.com>
Sat, 7 Feb 2009 02:15:18 +0000 (18:15 -0800)
committerRoland McGrath <roland@redhat.com>
Sat, 7 Feb 2009 02:22:29 +0000 (18:22 -0800)
commitc09249f8d1b84344eca882547afdbffee8c09d14
tree9c652c6aaec01f25f15d451b0f0e8009a8a8d530
parent6cec50838ed04a9833fb5549f698d3756bbe7e72
x86-64: fix int $0x80 -ENOSYS return

One of my past fixes to this code introduced a different new bug.
When using 32-bit "int $0x80" entry for a bogus syscall number,
the return value is not correctly set to -ENOSYS.  This only happens
when neither syscall-audit nor syscall tracing is enabled (i.e., never
seen if auditd ever started).  Test program:

/* gcc -o int80-badsys -m32 -g int80-badsys.c
   Run on x86-64 kernel.
   Note to reproduce the bug you need auditd never to have started.  */

#include <errno.h>
#include <stdio.h>

int
main (void)
{
  long res;
  asm ("int $0x80" : "=a" (res) : "0" (99999));
  printf ("bad syscall returns %ld\n", res);
  return res != -ENOSYS;
}

The fix makes the int $0x80 path match the sysenter and syscall paths.

Reported-by: Dmitry V. Levin <ldv@altlinux.org>
Signed-off-by: Roland McGrath <roland@redhat.com>
arch/x86/ia32/ia32entry.S