x86: correctly wire up the newuname system call
authorChristoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
Tue, 20 Apr 2010 03:31:02 +0000 (05:31 +0200)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Tue, 20 Apr 2010 16:17:21 +0000 (09:17 -0700)
commit4cecd935f67bf46a9fe8037c710dd86651fcafe4
tree6be8f6f6fb2f0a5fa4c3f1227d3485d673103121
parent01bf0b64579ead8a82e7cfc32ae44bc667e7ad0f
x86: correctly wire up the newuname system call

Before commit e28cbf22933d0c0ccaf3c4c27a1a263b41f73859 ("improve
sys_newuname() for compat architectures") 64-bit x86 had a private
implementation of sys_uname which was just called sys_uname, which other
architectures used for the old uname.

Due to some merge issues with the uname refactoring patches we ended up
calling the old uname version for both the old and new system call
slots, which lead to the domainname filed never be set which caused
failures with libnss_nis.

Reported-and-tested-by: Andy Isaacson <adi@hexapodia.org>
Signed-off-by: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
arch/x86/ia32/ia32entry.S