[PATCH] OCFS2: The Second Oracle Cluster Filesystem
[linux-2.6.git] / Documentation / filesystems / ocfs2.txt
1 OCFS2 filesystem
2 ==================
3 OCFS2 is a general purpose extent based shared disk cluster file
4 system with many similarities to ext3. It supports 64 bit inode
5 numbers, and has automatically extending metadata groups which may
6 also make it attractive for non-clustered use.
7
8 You'll want to install the ocfs2-tools package in order to at least
9 get "mount.ocfs2" and "ocfs2_hb_ctl".
10
11 Project web page:    http://oss.oracle.com/projects/ocfs2
12 Tools web page:      http://oss.oracle.com/projects/ocfs2-tools
13 OCFS2 mailing lists: http://oss.oracle.com/projects/ocfs2/mailman/
14
15 All code copyright 2005 Oracle except when otherwise noted.
16
17 CREDITS:
18 Lots of code taken from ext3 and other projects.
19
20 Authors in alphabetical order:
21 Joel Becker   <joel.becker@oracle.com>
22 Zach Brown    <zach.brown@oracle.com>
23 Mark Fasheh   <mark.fasheh@oracle.com>
24 Kurt Hackel   <kurt.hackel@oracle.com>
25 Sunil Mushran <sunil.mushran@oracle.com>
26 Manish Singh  <manish.singh@oracle.com>
27
28 Caveats
29 =======
30 Features which OCFS2 does not support yet:
31         - sparse files
32         - extended attributes
33         - shared writeable mmap
34         - loopback is supported, but data written will not
35           be cluster coherent.
36         - quotas
37         - cluster aware flock
38         - Directory change notification (F_NOTIFY)
39         - Distributed Caching (F_SETLEASE/F_GETLEASE/break_lease)
40         - POSIX ACLs
41         - readpages / writepages (not user visible)
42
43 Mount options
44 =============
45
46 OCFS2 supports the following mount options:
47 (*) == default
48
49 barrier=1               This enables/disables barriers. barrier=0 disables it,
50                         barrier=1 enables it.
51 errors=remount-ro(*)    Remount the filesystem read-only on an error.
52 errors=panic            Panic and halt the machine if an error occurs.
53 intr            (*)     Allow signals to interrupt cluster operations.
54 nointr                  Do not allow signals to interrupt cluster
55                         operations.